Agar (or Agar Agar), sometimes referred to as kanten, is a gelling agent coming from a South East Asian seaweed. Agar has no calories, no carbs, no sugar, and no fat and is loaded with fiber. It’s free from starch, soy, corn, gluten, yeast, wheat, milk, egg and preservatives. Agar is a substitute to traditional gelatin. Because it is from a plant source rather than from an animal one that makes it suitable for vegetarian and vegan diets. It has no taste, no odor and no color, which makes it pretty convenient to use. It sets more firmly than gelatin, and stays firm even when the temperature heats up. (Source: Global Foods Direct, NZ)

Recipe: Vegan Lemon Cheesecake by Aldo Zilli on BBC Foods